Math 101 - Fall, 2017

The notes are not always complete, and are often different from what I do in class. Don't use them as a substitute for attending class.

Fall Grades Done

Fall grades are done. Anyone who mailed me for their final exam and course grades by Wednesday morning, December 20, has gotten mail back from me. I won't be around till spring term starts. If you need to get in touch with me, send email but be patient, as I will not be checking mail regularly. Fall course pages will probably be removed a week or two after finals, so if there's anything you didn't grab that you want, you should get it now. Have a good vacation!

Problem Sets

Open or download the problem set sheets. (They're PDF files.) Use the example sheets if you need help. You may do the homework on the problem set sheets, or on separate pieces of paper (please STAPLE everything you turn in).

Be sure you attempt the required number of problems to receive credit. Problems that you can't do in your head MUST have work shown, or you won't get credit for attempting them.

Problem Sets are due by the end of class on the due dates. Solutions will be posted after the problem sets are collected.

Examples are given for some homework problems. If you get stuck, come in during office hours. You're encouraged to work with other students on the homework.

Math 101 - Homework Assignments

Problem Set Due Date Examples
Problem Set 1 Friday, September 1 Examples for Problem Set 1
Problem Set 2 Wednesday, September 6 Examples for Problem Set 2
Problem Set 3 Friday, September 8 Examples for Problem Set 3
Problem Set 4 Monday, September 11 Examples for Problem Set 4
Problem Set 5 Wednesday, September 13 Examples for Problem Set 5
Problem Set 6 Friday, September 15 Examples for Problem Set 6
Problem Set 7 Monday, September 18 Examples for Problem Set 7
Problem Set 8 Wednesday, September 20 Examples for Problem Set 8
Problem Set 9 Wednesday, September 27 Examples for Problem Set 9
Problem Set 10 Friday, September 29 Examples for Problem Set 10
Problem Set 11 Monday, October 2 Examples for Problem Set 11
Problem Set 12 Wednesday, October 4 Examples for Problem Set 12
Problem Set 13 Friday, October 6 Examples for Problem Set 13
Problem Set 14 Wednesday, October 11 Examples for Problem Set 14
Problem Set 15 Friday, October 13 Examples for Problem Set 15
Problem Set 16 Monday, October 16 Examples for Problem Set 16
Problem Set 17 Wednesday, October 18 Examples for Problem Set 17
Problem Set 18 Friday, October 20 Examples for Problem Set 18
Problem Set 19 Monday, October 23 Examples for Problem Set 19
Problem Set 20 Wednesday, October 25 Examples for Problem Set 20
Problem Set 21 Wednesday, November 1 Examples for Problem Set 21
Problem Set 22 Friday, November 3 Examples for Problem Set 22
Problem Set 23 Monday, November 6 Examples for Problem Set 23
Problem Set 24 Wednesday, November 8 Examples for Problem Set 24
Problem Set 25 Friday, November 10 Examples for Problem Set 25
Problem Set 26 Monday, November 13 Examples for Problem Set 26
Problem Set 27 Wednesday, November 15 Examples for Problem Set 27
Problem Set 28 Friday, November 17 Examples for Problem Set 28
Problem Set 29 Monday, November 20 Examples for Problem Set 29
Problem Set 30 Monday, November 27 Examples for Problem Set 30
Problem Set 31 Wednesday, November 29 Examples for Problem Set 31
Problem Set 32 Wednesday, December 6 Examples for Problem Set 32
Problem Set 33 Friday, December 8 [No free makeups] Examples for Problem Set 33
Problem Set 34 (not collected - material on final) Examples for Problem Set 34
Problem Set 35 (not collected - material on final) Examples for Problem Set 35

Problem Set Solutions

Review Sheets

The review sheets are to help you study. They aren't sample tests, they aren't graded, and there's nothing you have to turn in. If something is on a review sheet, it doesn't mean there is a similar problem on the test; if something is not on a review sheet, it doesn't mean there isn't a similar problem on the test. You're responsible for everything we've covered.

Review Session Notes

I used to hold in-person review sessions, but stopped due to low attendance. The notes and videos for the review sessions are linked below. They may not be in sync with the tests, so check the review sheets to see what you're responsible for.

These are notes [PDF] for the Review Sessions. Use them if you want to print them out or read them.

These are videos for the review sessions. You'll see me writing solutions to selected problems as I talk through the answers. I don't do all of the problems in the printed notes above.


If you're having personal problems: Please consider seeing Counseling Services. They're on the 3rd floor of Lyle Hall; they're free and confidential, and they've helped many of my students. It's natural to want to fix things yourself, but if your problems are causing you to miss class, to get behind in courses, or to get poor grades, it's best to get help.

Contact information

Bruce Ikenaga's Home Page