Math 211 - Fall, 2017

Note:The notes are often incomplete, I haven't written up notes on all the topics, and the notes are often different from what I do in class. They're provided in case you find them useful.

Fall Grades Done

Fall grades are done. Anyone who mailed me for their final exam and course grades by Wednesday morning, December 20, has gotten mail back from me. I won't be around till spring term starts. If you need to get in touch with me, send email but be patient, as I will not be checking mail regularly. Fall course pages will probably be removed a week or two after finals, so if there's anything you didn't grab that you want, you should get it now. Have a good vacation!

Problem Sets

Problem Sets are due by the end of class on the days listed below (and on the problem sheets. You don't need to print out the problem sheets (but you may if you wish); you can do the work on the problem sheets or on separate pieces of paper. (Staple everything together, please.) Be sure you've attempted at least the required number of problems to receive credit.

Math 211 - Homework Assignments

Problem Set Due Date Examples
Problem Set 1 Thursday, August 31 Examples for Problem Set 1
Problem Set 2 Tuesday, September 5 Examples for Problem Set 2
Problem Set 3 Thursday, September 7 Examples for Problem Set 3
Problem Set 4 Monday, September 11 Examples for Problem Set 4
Problem Set 5 Tuesday, September 12 Examples for Problem Set 5
Problem Set 6 Thursday, September 14 Examples for Problem Set 6
Problem Set 7 Monday, September 18 Examples for Problem Set 7
Problem Set 8 Tuesday, September 19 Examples for Problem Set 8
Problem Set 9 Thursday, September 21 Examples for Problem Set 9
Problem Set 10 Monday, September 25 Examples for Problem Set 10
Problem Set 11 Tuesday, September 26 Examples for Problem Set 11
Problem Set 12 Monday, October 2 Examples for Problem Set 12
Problem Set 13 Tuesday, October 3 Examples for Problem Set 13
Problem Set 14 Thursday, October 5 Examples for Problem Set 14
Problem Set 15 Thursday, October 12 Examples for Problem Set 15
Problem Set 16 Monday, October 16 Examples for Problem Set 16
Problem Set 17 Tuesday, October 17 Examples for Problem Set 17
Problem Set 18 Monday, October 23 Examples for Problem Set 18
Problem Set 19 Tuesday, October 24 Examples for Problem Set 19
Problem Set 20 Thursday, October 26 Examples for Problem Set 20
Problem Set 21 Monday, October 30 Examples for Problem Set 21
Problem Set 22 Tuesday, October 31 Examples for Problem Set 22
Problem Set 23 Thurday, November 2 Examples for Problem Set 23
Problem Set 24 Monday, November 6 Examples for Problem Set 24
Problem Set 25 Tuesday, November 7 Examples for Problem Set 25
Problem Set 26 Thursday, November 9 Examples for Problem Set 26
Problem Set 27 Monday, November 13 Examples for Problem Set 27
Problem Set 28 Tuesday, November 14 Examples for Problem Set 28
Problem Set 29 Thursday, November 16 Examples for Problem Set 29
Problem Set 30 Monday, November 20 Examples for Problem Set 30
Problem Set 31 Tuesday, November 21 Examples for Problem Set 31
Problem Set 32 Monday, November 27 Examples for Problem Set 32
Problem Set 33 Tuesday, November 28 Examples for Problem Set 33
Problem Set 34 Monday, December 4 Examples for Problem Set 34
Problem Set 35 Tuesday, December 5 Examples for Problem Set 35
Problem Set 36 Thursday, December 7 (no free makeups!) Examples for Problem Set 36

Problem Set Solutions

Solutions to the problem sets will be posted after the problem sets have been collected.

Review Sheets

Review Sheets are to help you study. They are not sample tests. The presence of a problem on a review sheet does not mean there will be a problem like it on the test. And there may be test problems which are not like review sheet problems.

Review Sessions

I used to hold in-person review sessions, but stopped due to low attendance. The notes and videos for the review sessions are linked below. They may not be in sync with the tests, so check the review sheets to see what you're responsible for.

These are notes [PDF] for the Review Sessions. Use them if you want to print them out or read them.

These are some videos for the review sessions. You'll see me writing solutions to selected problems as I talk through the answers. I don't do all of the problems in the printed notes (above).


If you're having personal problems: Please consider seeing Counseling Services. They're on the 3rd floor of Lyle Hall; they're free and confidential, and they've helped many of my students. It's natural to want to fix things yourself, but if your problems are causing you to miss class, to get behind in courses, or to get poor grades, it's best to get help.

Contact information

Bruce Ikenaga's Home Page

Copyright 2017 by Bruce Ikenaga