Millersville University, Faculty Senate

University Honors Program Committee

1998-99 Annual Report

Submitted 5/4/99 by Marjorie Warmkessel, Chairperson

98-99 Members Representing Term expires
Marjorie Warmkessel, LIBR (Chair) 2001
John Osborne HIST/Director UHP UHP (ex officio)
Alison Lathrop ESCI/Asst. Director UHP
Resigned December 1998
UHP (ex officio)
Judi Roller, Assoc. Provost Provost (ex officio)
Steven Miller, ENGL Humanities 2001
Anita Renfroe, MUSI Humanities 2001
Mary Glazier, SOCY Social Science 1999
Kirsten Madden, ECON Social Science 1999
James Cosentino, BIOL Science & Math 2001
Ronald Umble, MATH Science & Math 1999
Linda McDowell, EDFN Education 2001
Lucinda Ridley, SPED Education 2001
Scott Anderson, LIBR Non-School Faculty 2001
Megan Harkless Student Senate 1999
Vacancy UHP Students 1999

The committee met 12 times this academic year; average attendance = 9 members

Motions forwarded to Senate:

Other deliberations/actions:

Approved the following courses as new honors offerings:

Developed selection criteria and recommended procedures for implementing new University Honors Program scholarships.

Recommended Dr. William Mech, Dean of the Honors College at Florida Atlantic University, as consultant for the University Honors Program. Coordinated Dr. Mech's 3-day visit to Millersville in March.

Called for applications for a new director for the University Honors Program beginning in Fall, 1999. Reviewed applications and by the end of the spring semester will have interviewed applicants and made a recommendation to the provost.

Reviewed and made revisions to the cover sheet to accompany honors course proposals.

Reviewed applications and selected two students to participate in the 1999 SSHE Summer Honors Program, sponsored by California University, covering issues of the Renaissance and Reformation in Europe.

Selected students to be recognized as outstanding Sophomore/Junior Honors Student at the annual University Honors Program Banquet held April 5, 1999.

Approved granting of research funds to four students who had applied for Summer Student Research grants.

Matters currently in committee:

Pending approval of GEOG226 (Political Geography).

Recommendation to provost regarding applicants for the position of Director of the University Honors Program.

Continued discussions about the transition from an Honors Program to an Honors College.

Return to Faculty Senate Home Page
Return to MU Home Page