Millersville University, Faculty Senate
Action Summary
6 May 1997

1. Course and Program Approvals
Senate approved the following proposals effective Fall 1998:
Psychology Proposal for Credit increases from 30 to 33 in Psychology-Philosophy; Psychology-Sociology and Psychology-Special Education Double Majors.
2. Senate Annual Reports
Senate voted not to continue to distribute paper copies of the annual reports by attaching them to today's minutes as in the past. Instead it will rely on senate's Webpage.
3. Academic Theme for 2000-2001
Senate approved the next university academic theme, proposed by Senator M. Houlahan, and entitled Building a Community of pARTnerships: The Role of Arts in Society for the year 2000-2001.
4. Faculty Emeritus
Senate recommended Professor Russell L. DeSouza and Bernard L. Oostdam for faculty emeritus status as Professors of Meteorlogy and Oceanography respectively.
5. Election
Senate elected B. Schneller from the English Department as chairperson of the Women's Studies Curriculum Committee
6. Governance Document Wording on Major and Minor Policies
Senate voted to replace the current Governance Document wording with the following new wording: students who choose a minor containing courses from their major may not duplicate more than one course in the completion of both their major and minor.

Return to Faculty Senate Home Page
Return to MU Home Page