Millersville University, Faculty Senate

Attachment #3
Faculty Senate Minutes
November 20, 2001


WHEREAS Dr. Michael A. Dianna, Professor, Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education, retired in July of 2001 after 32 years of service to Millersville University of Pennsylvania including five years as a dedicated and exemplary chair of the Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education who earned the love and respect of his Department members,

WHEREAS Dr. Dianna modeled teaching excellence and dedication to the professional development and learning of pre-service and in-service teachers, pioneered the intermediate unit non-graded, open education program in Jenkins School that was visited by hundreds of in-service teachers and college students, conducted many in-service workshops for public and private schools in Dauphin, Lancaster, Lebanon and York counties, and supervised numerous students during their junior block and student teaching experiences

WHEREAS Dr. Dianna devoted countless hours to Millersville University including serving on the MEDAL Fund Board, Student-Faculty Athletic Committee, and APSCUF committees, and serving as the School of Education Curriculum Committee chair,

WHEREAS Dr. Dianna made many contributions to the community including the Hershey Museum Curriculum Committee, the Lancaster Multi-Cultural Advisory Committee, Newspapers in Education and the Penn Manor Youth Soccer League,

WHEREAS Dr. Dianna received the Mount St. Mary Outstanding Alumni award,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED: That Dr. Michael A. Dianna be granted the honorary title of Professor of Elementary and Early Childhood Education Emeritus.

Return to Faculty Senate Home Page
Return to MU Home page