Millersville University, Faculty Senate

Attachment E
Faculty Senate Minutes
April 16, 2002

TO: Millersville University Faculty Senate
FROM: Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education
RE: Resolution for Emerita Status for Dr. Margaret R. Tassia
DATE: April 15, 2002


Whereas Professor Margaret R. Tassia is retiring in June 2002 after 31 years of service to Millersville University in the Elizabeth Jenkins Laboratory School, the Department of Library Science, and the Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education; and

Whereas Dr. Tassia was Director of the Library Media Program at the Laboratory School, guiding the integration of informational literacy into the elementary school curriculum and mentoring students in their field experiences in the Library Science program; and

Whereas Dr. Tassia chaired the Department of Library Science for 10 years, guiding curricular revision resulting in the infusion of technology into the department's courses, and following the department's closure, collaborating on distance education in library service with the University of Pittsburgh; and

Whereas Dr. Tassia dedicated extensive time and energy to teaching, advising, and mentoring elementary school and Library Science students and students in the Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education, especially in the areas of children's literature and storytelling; and

Whereas Dr. Tassia has written numerous articles, published books on information literacy skill development and the Pennsylvania German culture, served on numerous children's literature and media evaluation committees in the Association of Library Service to Children/ALA, including the prestigious 1999 John Newbery Award Committee, served as President of the Pennsylvania School Library Association, and served Millersville University on numerous committees, including 13 years as a Faculty Senator,

Therefore be it resolved that Dr. Margaret R. Tassia be granted the honorary title of Professor of Elementary and Early Childhood Education Emerita.

Return to Faculty Senate Home Page
Return to MU Home Page