Millersville University, Faculty Senate

Attachment F
Faculty Senate Minutes
April 16, 2002

TO: Millersville University Faculty Senate
FROM: Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education
RE: Resolution for Emeritus Status for Dr. Dennis Denenberg
DATE: April 15, 2002

Resolution for Faculty Emeritus Status
Dennis Denenberg

Whereas Professor Dennis Denenberg is retiring in August 2002 after 15 years of service to Millersville University in the Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education; and

Whereas Dr. Denenberg committed five years to arranging student placements in local area classrooms as the Service Coordinator of Field Experience and thereafter dedicated extensive time and energy to teaching, advising, and mentoring students in the Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education, empowering college students to make connections to history and the importance of content as evident by his active role in the Core Knowledge Foundation and his stressing the words of a popular American Hero Will Rogers, "You can't teach what you don't know anymore than you can come back from where you ain't been"; and

Whereas Dr. Denenberg brought the importance of real heroes in the lives of our elementary students to the attention of our teacher candidates through his teachings, through the many articles he has had published, through his book, Toward a Human Curriculum: A Guide to Returning Great People to Classrooms and Homes, through his co-authored, Hooray for Heroes, and ultimately, through his co-authoring of his book, 50 American Heroes Every Kid Should Meet!; and

Whereas Dr. Denenberg founded and co-advised Phi Eta Sigma, a freshman academic honorary society, recognizing the achievement of our promising students, as well as served on many other university and community committees,

Therefore be it resolved that Dr. Dennis Denenberg, achieving his "life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness", be granted the honorary title of Professor of Elementary and Early Childhood Education Emeritus.

Return to Faculty Senate Home Page
Return to MU Home Page