Millersville University, Faculty Senate

Attachment J
Faculty Senate Minutes
April 16, 2002

Millersville University Teaching Excellence Award

The award to be given annually to an individual faculty in recognition of sustained outstanding teaching and mentoring of the undergraduate and graduate students at Millersville University.

Award Details:
  1. Faculty members can receive this award only once in their career.
  2. There will be no monetary reward associated with this award.
  3. The award will consist of a plaque and the faculty member's picture displayed in a common area.
  4. The award will be presented annually at the May commencement ceremony.

Selection Committee:

The selection committee will consist of two to three alumni and two to three faculty emeriti. Either an alumni or a faculty emeritus will chair the committee.


Any member of the university, including faculty, staff, administration, and students, may submit a nomination for this award. Nominations are to be submitted by December 1. All nominations must include a supporting letter from the nominator. Nominees and their respective department chairs will be notified before the end of the fall semester (so as to allow the nominee ample time to provide supporting materials). The nominee and the respective department chair will be asked at this time to provide supporting materials. The supporting materials can include, but are not limited to, student evaluations, peer reviews of teaching, testimonials from current and former students, and any curricular materials developed by the nominee. The deadline for submission of the supporting materials will be February 1.

Committee's Recommendation:

The selection committee will forward their recommendation to the President's Advisory Council (or should it just say president and the provost only) by March 1. A decision by the President's Advisory Council (or president and provost only) will be made by April 1.

Announcement of the Award

The award will be announced at the May commencement ceremony.

Return to Faculty Senate Home Page
Return to MU Home Page